Update on David

Well, now my brother is talking about making aliyah (literally “to go up,” but in this context means moving to Israel). He is also ending his conversations with “L’hitraot v’Shalom” which I believe is the Israeli equivalent of “See ya later; Peace!” He seems really impressed that there are so many Jews and so many people who speak Hebrew. While I am sure he intellectually knew that there are a lot of both in Israel, it must be really weird to go from being an extreme minority in America to being one of the majority in Israel. Anyway, he seems to be having a good time!

I believe these pics are from Masada. David is wearing the grey floppy hat and Marine t-shirt:

David at Masada

David At Masada

To read the rest of the posts in this series, click here: Tracking David’s Kippah Around the Globe.

2 Responses to “Update on David”


  1. 1 busyhands June 15, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Masada is soooo powerful. I can understand why after that, along with finally being in a place that feels like one’s homeland, that he wants to make aliyah. I sometimes wish that I first went to Israel before I finished graduate school and settled down – I think that I would have made aliyah too.


Leave a comment




To contact me…

Email

Fern Portrait

I respond to all my emails pretty quickly, but please allow for extra time if you email me on Friday or Saturday.

Please Visit My Shop:

Flickr Photos